My lesson on happiness from a wise 13 year old

The wisdom of youth

I arrived home last night feeling exhausted after a full day at the office and battling the traffic on the freeway. When I got inside my son came running up with a huge smile on his face and told me how glad he was to see me. That always gives me a big lift. I asked him why he was in such a great mood. He said it was because he’d spent the day doing lots of things that made him happy.

Good answer.

Since getting home from school he’d played tennis, had a friend over and made popcorn, jumped on the trampoline, played computer games, watched his favourite show and he was looking forward to the dinner his mum was making which smelt delicious. Life’s great when you’re 13.

This made me think about the things that I really loved to do and had slipped off the radar in recent years. So why do we let that change? If you want to be happy, then do more things that make you happy!

Do you remember the best days of your life? Are they now? If so, good for you! For most of us, though, our best days are probably times past, with fewer responsibilities, more adventure and perhaps a greater a sense of freedom.

I love my life now and don’t want to live in the past, but my son made me think about the things I used to do that made me happy. And some of those things still would today: spending an afternoon in a beer garden with friends, taking my wife to a dinner and a movie, playing guitar and driving to the beach on a warm evening to eat pizza.  Enjoying the simple things can easily get lost in the maelstrom of life. I hadn’t done any of these simple activities for ages.

So now I will. Life’s a journey and we grow and enjoy new things but wouldn’t it be fun to add some good times from the past just to break the routine; to make you even happier. And perhaps share with new friends or your kids.

Make a list of things that you love to do, the things that make life exciting and that you’ve haven’t done for some time. Highlight the ones you could still do now with your current commitments. Pick one or two that are easy and program them into your schedule for the next month, and every month. Share the experience with those you love and be happy.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “My lesson on happiness from a wise 13 year old”

  1. Adam Finlay Says:

    Excellent advice, WLBB. Good to remember!

Leave a Reply

