What does being authentic really mean?

 

What does your authentic self look like?

In my last post I touched on the desire to be in touch with our authentic selves. It sounds right, but what does it mean? We feel it strongly when we’re teenagers like my daughter Chloe. It’s OK to want to find ourselves and where we fit into the world. But what about for the rest of us, is it too late?  That’s the topic of today’s post. 

Success finds us when we’re authentic. If we follow our heart, we usually end up where we’re supposed to be; happy and contented. We’re all born authentic, but as we grow we succumb to influences that separate us from who we are, and we’re often superficially rewarding for acting like we’re expected to.

We talk of the joy of individuality and celebrate our diversity but we’re all expected to head in the same direction, never straying off the line.

Being true to who we are takes time and effort. Here are some things to help you on your way:

  • To be authentic means to find the key to happiness and success within yourself, not within society.
  • When you live an authentic life, you are living the life that resonates with your true self and not your ego.
  • It takes courage, determination and effort to be free of others’ opinions.
  • To be authentic, you have to stop putting others’ needs ahead of your own and compromising your dreams to please others.

To understand who you are, answer these questions:

  • What in life already makes me happy?
  • What, if added to my life, would make me happier?
  • Where do I already feel successful?
  • Do I feel that true happiness lies elsewhere?
  • If I had all money I ever needed how would I spend my time?
  • What do I need to let go of now to be more authentic?
  • Am I willing to do it?
  • What will be the consequences of doing it?

Life has demands, and those demands require action. And then actions have consequences. There are also consequences for acting and consequences for not acting. It’s rarely possible to turn our life on its head and charge off into the sunset. Like it or not most of us have responsibilities.

So what can you do today and everyday to reconnect with your authentic self? It will be there if you have the courage to look.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “What does being authentic really mean?”

  1. paulhassing Says:

    Good show, WLB2! I like your new wave piccie too! 🙂

  2. Adam Finlay Says:

    Does Paul mean the ocean wave, or the blow wave? Will the real WLBB please stand up. 🙂

  3. blogspot.com Says:

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your blog posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog:
    https://worklifebankbalance.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/what-does-being-authentic-really-mean/.
    I am going to aslo be sure to give you the appropriate anchortext hyperlink using
    your website title: What does being authentic really mean?
    | Work Life Bank Balance. Please let me know if this is ok with you.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

