One step ahead …

One step at a time

One step at a time

In our last few posts we’ve discussed success, change and happiness. Specifically, the pursuit of these ideals as specific outcomes that define a future state; a state that ‘feels’ better than the present moment. This makes sense. It’s the fundamental of personal growth.

I don’t know about you, but I often wish that I were five steps ahead. This is the belief that the future will be better. ‘Things will be great when …’

I imagine that I will have achieved more, have more resources, be less stressed, experience less uncertainty and be happy where I am. But then I arrive in my own future and I feel the same way. I’m still hoping to be somewhere further down the road; another five steps ahead.

It’s an exhausting process that doesn’t leave any room for enjoying the present moment. It keeps us disconnected from ourselves and distracted from others because we’re trying to manage our future rather than enjoying the present.

So much of what we read is contradictory; set huge goals and strive for their achievement, or live totally in the ‘now’ because that’s the secret of happiness.

We can neither be so goal focused that we live entirely in the future; nor should we be so focused on the present moment that we fail to plan ahead.

The answer is rarely found in extremes. The secret to life is balance. So enjoy today while having an eye for the future.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “One step ahead …”

  1. paulhassing Says:

    Yeah. Smell the damn roses. I’d say more, but my formatting ideas have been met with sedimentary silence. So … to you.

  2. WorkLifeBankBalance Says:

    Thnks Paul, happy to have your comments anyday! It was left justified!

Leave a Reply

