Time and tide

Finding the time ...

Finding the time …

I’ve just returned from a business trip to Europe and being away made me appreciate what I have at home. I missed my wife and children and looked forward to our daily call.

Unfortunately, it’s not that way at home; we often take our circumstances for granted. It’s easy to be short with those we love, or so preoccupied with the busyness of the day that our attention wanders.

Being away made me think how much I should appreciate what I have at home. And it works both ways. My family were happy to hear from me and we exchanged experiences from our day. There was even the odd ‘I love you’.

Funny, I needed to be on the other side of the world for that to happen. Perhaps we need to focus more on it when we’re on the other side of the room.

I was away for only ten days but it felt like weeks. Time is related to experience. And I was experiencing many things for the first time. Late in the trip I thought back to when I arrived at the airport; it felt so much more than a week ago.

That made me think how we live our lives on remote control. We do the same things in the same way day after day without conscious effort. The days pass into weeks, months and years and we ask ‘Where did the time go?’

It takes something different to get off remote control. That’s what I experienced on my trip. It made me see the value of life and how easily we allow it to slip away.

This takes me back to family. Both points are related. We can’t always be in an exciting foreign city; the requirements of ‘ordinary’ daily life remain. However, we can always be present and appreciative.

Perhaps we can build some ‘new’ into our family lives. A weekend activity, a change of pace, a new experience shared. Maybe time will slow down and at the end of the year we’ll remember shared experiences rather than only passing time.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Time and tide”

  1. paulhassing Says:

    Good on you, WLB2! I salute your insight. As usual, my enjoyment of your posts trebles when you turn that laser mind on yourself. Kind regards, P. 🙂

Leave a Reply

