Success and significance

Success does not preclude significance

Success does not preclude significance

There are so many demands on what we should do and who we should be that it’s easy to get lost.

Who are you?

I’m many things. What I am can change with circumstance, but not who I am.

Mostly I’m just me. I’m the person who has sole custody of my life.

Not just my life at work, life at home, life as a dad, brother, son, husband, friend or grandfather.

Not just the life of my mind, but of my soul.

Who am I?

Many of us get to a certain age and our focus shifts. We stop looking outward. We are who we are, and can be happy because that’s enough.

It’s easier to show what we have, than explain who we are. Yet obituaries describe who you were, not what you had.

Having is good. Being and having don’t have to be in conflict, despite what many would have you believe. Owning interesting things is a rewarding part of life. There’s no reason to feel guilty about enjoying them. Success and significance are not mutually exclusive. Balance is the key.

I love owning fine things; they make life’s journey rewarding, interesting and comfortable. Enjoy a nice car, wear fine clothes, live in a beautiful home, and travel the world in style. Love your family, enjoy your friends, find your purpose, feed your spirit and give back when you can. That’s the zest of life.

It’s not just about your bank account, but also your soul.

Take the time to stop and enjoy the moment. Which moment? Any will do. Find simplicity and peace as a pause in a hectic life. For a moment, allow time to stand still.
The best advice is very simple: get a life.

A life with people you love, and who love you. Be generous. Not only with money but with your time and talent; it’s fun to share. Many desire success. But without significance, it will never be enough.

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Success and significance”

  1. paulhassing Says:

    Nice one, WLBB! Your writing is getting so good, I almost believed. A couple more like this and I’ll be in your thrall. Kind regards, P. 🙂

  2. adamnrave Says:

    One of your best, WLBB. I allus enjoy the read. Keep them coming!

  3. Kindred Spirit Says:

    I could not have said it better! You took the words right from my heart and mind and spoke the truth of what I have been trying to express. This WLBB is totally on point. You spoke exactly what I have been feeling so deep inside. It was like music to my ears, a confirmation sent from above. Thank you for putting it so eloquently. My heart and spirit is singing Hallelujah! I am on the right track. It’s been confirmed. Thank you and be blessed!

    • WorkLifeBankBalance Says:

      Thank you for your very kind words. It means a lot to know that there are others out there that feel the way I do. Life provides us all with a brilliant opportunity when we’re prepared to be our best selves!

Leave a Reply

