Do we matter?

We have a lot to be thankful for

We have a lot to be thankful for

I was walking through the city yesterday and it, despite Melbourne’s cold weather, was alive with people rushing to their next destination. Does anything they do actually matter? Or are we filling time lost in jobs going on day in day out whether we’re there or not?

Of course there are the lucky ones that make a difference, enjoy their work and, as Tony Robbins says, ‘Live with passion’. It’s a great goal but by the look of most people on the street, quite a way from reality.

Now that I’m on the high side of 50, I spend more time assessing the world and my place in it. I’m somewhat over the corporate system, having ‘played the game’ for nearly thirty years. I’m too young to retire and know that I would be quickly bored and want a challenge.

I pursue hobbies and have the resources to enjoy them more now. I want to live my passion and make a difference but I also have bills to pay. Sometimes that makes me feel trapped. And then guilty because I have done very well out of life. And then resentful because the years just fly by. Why am I here and does it matter?

I found a picture of my grandfather and his work colleagues from the City of Melbourne dated 1917. In essential jobs, most were disappointed that they couldn’t go to war; they missed the ‘Great Adventure’. In hindsight they were the lucky ones. Had things been different, perhaps I wouldn’t have been born. They’re all gone now. What was their legacy? What did their lives mean?

Then I realise how hard my grandparents worked to raise a family, to achieve a level of success, and how proud they were of their achievements. The stories my grandfather told me, the values my family embraced, I now teach to my grandson half a century later. I realise that we all make a difference when we work to leave the world just a little better than we found it.

 

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Do we matter?”

  1. paulhassing Says:

    Nice one, WLB2.
    I’ve been thinking about this a lot myself. Your post reminded me of a Nick Cave quote I recently discovered.
    Not sure if it’s relevant, but what the hey?
    ”All of our days are numbered. We cannot afford to be idle. To act on a bad idea, is better than to not act it all…because the worth of the idea, never becomes appearant until you do it. Sometimes this idea can be the smallest thing in the world. A little flame that you hunch over and cup with your hand and pray will not be extinguished by all the storm that hauls about it. If you can hold on to that flame, great things can be constructed around, that are massive and powerful and world changing. All held up by the tiniest of the ideas.”
    Kind regards, P.

    • WorkLifeBankBalance Says:

      That’s spot on Paul, certainly says it with some flair. it will be nice to have the satisfaction of making a positive difference to someone’s life through our existence. Someone who will say ‘I’m glad I knew him/her’.

Leave a Reply

