Keeping the faith

Find your own way

Find your own way

I love listening to children’s wild ideas about life; what they want to create and what they want to be. Young children are so much fun; they aren’t yet tainted by the naysayers who decry anything beyond the usual as ‘impossible’.

I like a big dose of impossible. We’d be lost without it. Many people say ‘Dare to dream’ but in the next breath tell you why your dream is impossible. We see the results of the out-of-the-box thinkers all the time. We see how they drive the advancements of the world.

So why, as a society, do we expect everyone to conform? My son was telling me how he wanted to make a difference in the world and get rich doing it. He’s a clever boy and I don’t doubt him for a moment.

An older relative who was visiting said ‘That would never work in the real world’ and followed this up with ‘It’s not very nice to say that you want to be rich when there are so many people struggling in the world today’.

Now there’s a massive dose of lack mentality! She didn’t mean to be negative; she was trying to protect him from disappointment by telling him not to set the bar too high. That’s an opinion that’s more common than you think – and one that gives us ‘permission’ not to try.

This ‘real world’ sounds like a depressing place. A place where new ideas, different approaches and enthusiasm are checked at the door. Where real-world inhabitants are filled with negativity and despair. They expect new ideas to fail and change to be rejected. Worse, they want to drag others down with them.

Don’t believe the naysayers. Their world may be real for them, but it doesn’t mean you have to live in it. The real world isn’t a place, it’s an excuse. Don’t go there.

 

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Keeping the faith”

  1. paulhassing Says:

    Dang, WLB2 – two good posts in a row! Keep this up and you’ll get on the radio! Again, you’ve triggered something in my brain: http://theunimpossibles.com/2015/04/13/single-and-sober-a-one-year-one-month-and-twenty-six-day-review/ Hope you and your son find this interesting, if not useful. Kind regards and please give us a hat-trick, P.

    • WorkLifeBankBalance Says:

      Thanks Paul,

      I read the post on the link you provided and it’s very interesting. Stories from real-life always are. Glad you enjoyed my post and we’ll see how it goes for three in a row! Cheers

  2. adamnrave Says:

    I concur. One of your best, WLBB. Keep them rolling in!

  3. Kindred Spirit Says:

    Let me say Amen! This post is so true….that is why I have been learning to live in the “Spirit” instead of the “Natural”….as humans we have no choice but to live in this world with all it’s rules and regulations and changes……wanting us to constantly conform but, I have learned that I can live in this world but not be apart of it…..yes I follow the rules and the laws but, I live in the Spirit because I believe in “Hope” and “Faith” and that there is something so much bigger than us out there….I call it “God the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit”! As individuals we can choose Spirit in whatever belief system we may have. The bottom line to me (which is only my opinion) there is nothing greater than “Love” and love allows me to be free of the naysayers and to focus on making a difference in this world in some way, form, or fashion and if through my passion, my destiny I can make a living, I’m more better for it. If I become rich in the process, I will always be grateful and would use my riches to help someone else (quitely) along the way. You see I would much rather be rich than famous….I don’t need the world (people) to validate me. I am a quite giver……a lover of life…..and I think your son hit it right on the head. I also understand what your relative was trying to say…..and why she wants to protect him form the harsh realities of this life and this world and he needs to know that there will always be obstacles that will try to get in our way on our path to greatness…..but he also should know “Never Give Up”…..go for it!

    Much Peace and Joy unto you and your family. Thank you for your blog…..it makes me think and I like that.

    • WorkLifeBankBalance Says:

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment and your depth of thinking. I believe that everyone has the right to be rich when they find their passion and enjoy doing it, particularly when it helps others or contributes to the development of our lives. Even better when we are in a position to give back, on our terms and for our own reasons. Your attitude and gratitude will ensure your success. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

